Euly LeGro & Adriana

    What is your name? Euly LeGro

    Please tell us a bit about your history. Please include a bit about your educational background, your career path, and your family: I was born in the Philippines. I have a BS Degree in Agricultural Engineering – obtained in the Philippines in 1983; but, my career and my job for the past 30 years have been in the IT industry.  I came to the US in late 1991 and have been working with the phone company (back then it was Pacific Bell, then we became SBC, and now we’re AT&T) since 1992. My job title currently is Principal Technical Architect (PTA) with the Mobility, Business and Home Solutions department of AT&T’s Information Technology (IT).  I hope to stay in the IT area but aim to move up my career toward a Lead PTA position or a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff. I am married to my husband- who is another IT guy- for 18 years now. We have 3 kids: 24-year old daughter who is a fourth year pharmacy student at Touro University, a 17-year old daughter in 12th grade, and a 14 -year old son in 9th grade. We have a family cat- Twyla.

    How long have you volunteered with We Teach Science Foundation? I started in January 2014

    What are some ways you use math at your job? I use math formulas in calculating project costs, project estimate variances, resource optimizations.

    Why do you like math and/or science? What is your favorite math or science memory as a student? It challenges me to think and when I arrive at a solution, it is a great feeling. I remember that I used to enjoy working on pages and pages of verbal math problems.

    What are some things you struggled with growing up? What was hard for you in school? What are some things that are challenging for you now? Being short was a challenge for me when I was growing up.  I stand 5’0” and my siblings are 5’5”, 5’7”, 5’8” and 5’10”. Sometimes, I get challenged making small talks in a group or even one-on-one.

     What are some of your favorite things to do? What were a few of your hobbies growing up? What are your current hobbies and interests? I love journaling, making lists, reading self-improvement books, de-cluttering my house and my space, and watching good movies.  I love the ones with heroes – like X-Men, Avengers, Superman, Batman.  I have also collected almost all the Disney movies, especially the animated ones.